Sunday, August 30, 2009

Cinzano Takes the Checkered Flag Again at 2009 Cowes-Torquay-Cowes Race

For the third time, Cinzano, piloted by Marcus Hendricks, Tim Grimshaw and Eric Smilie took the checkered flag at Britian's 2009 Cowes-Torquay-Cowes Race with a time of 3hrs 35.20, just seconds ahead of Hot Lemon. As weather conditions in the race deteriorated, Austrian Hannes Bohinc and his team were denied the victory after a ruptured fuel tank forced their boat from the competition with just 1.5 miles to go.

PHOTO CREDIT: BYM Sailing & Sports.

On of the highlights of this year's race was the fact that 70-year old sailing legend Sir Robin Knox-Johnston, the first sailor to circumnavigate the globe single-handed and non-stop in 1969, teamed up with female powerboat champion Shelley Jory. Racing as Team Scorpion, they finished the race in fouth place, with Sir Robin navigating.

PHOTO CREDIT: BYM Sailing & Sports.

Once again, Europe’s oldest offshore endurance powerboat race lived up to its legendary reputation. Gordon Oliver, chairman of the Torbay Hospitality Association, said that a special series of celebrations would be held next year to celebrate Cowes-Torquay's 50th anniversary:
"For 2010 we're looking to bring together people who have played a part in Torquay-Cowes in the past. There have been lots of famous people who have participated. We really want to make it something to remember."
2009 Cowes-Torquay-Cowes - Official Race Results

1. - 558 - Cinzano - CUV/Ilmor
2. - R2 - Hot Lemon - Scorpion/Yanmar
3. - 47 - Relentless - Revenger/Mercury

4. - R14 - Team Scorpion - Scorpion/Yanmar

5. - 343 - Carbon Neutral - Revenger/Mercury

6. - 18 - Power Products - Phantom/Yamaha

7. - 130 - The Fugative - Shakespear/Yanmar

8. - 100 - Blastoff - Fountain/Mercury

No comments:

Follow [B3] by Email

Search [B3], Links & the web

  © Blogger templates ProBlogger Template by 2008

Back to TOP